EDITOR'S NOTE



Dear readers,
As we approach the end of the year 2021, it is time to think about the highlights for our journal. After a break during the COVID-19 lockdown, the printing of the AES journal has started again. Four new Associate Technical Editors

began their careers with

JAES this year: Prof. Catarina

Mendonça, Dr. Piotr Majdak, Prof. Juhan Nam, and Prof. Luca Turchet. Welcome and thank you for your valuable work.

In 2021, JAES published two special issues, which has been our norm in the past few years. The first one, which appears in the July/August issue, was related to the Digital Audio Effects Conference (DAFx). The second special issue, Internet of Sounds, was divided into two parts, which were published in October and the current issue. I want to thank all Guest Editors who helped arrange these exciting special issues: Gianpaolo Evangelista, Piotr Majdak, Peter Balazs, Luca Turchet, George Fazekas, Cristina Rottondi, and Carlo Fischione. According to the plan, in 2022, JAES will publish at least three special issues. Please follow the JAES special issues webpage, which is updated frequently: https://www.aes.org/journal/special/.

I would like to warmly thank the help of JAES managing editor Paige Horvath, who started earlier this year, and production manager Christopher Cifani for their efforts to improve the quality and speed up the publishing process of the journal. As a visible result of this, the Author Guidelines have been improved and updated. The LaTeX template, which many authors use for preparing the manuscript to be published in JAES, was also updated this year. Kurt James Werner was very helpful and solved some tricky technical problems. The template now produces a PDF file that is similar to the style of the journal. This reduces the need for copyediting and will thus contribute to streamlining the publishing process. Thanks for your important contributions, Kurt!

I am grateful for the support that JAES and I have received from the former JAES Editor-in-Chief Bozena Kostek, the AES Executive Director Colleen Harper, and the AES Publication Policy Committee chair Josh Reiss, who is also the AES President-Elect.

In 2021, over 200 experts, listed below, volunteered by reviewing manuscripts submitted to JAES. Without them, the journal could not guarantee its high quality. Thank you so much to all of them.

Special thanks go to the consultant technical writer and editor Francis Rumsey, who has taught me much about JAES but who will retire now. This means that he will not be writing more feature articles, which many readers, including myself, have liked a lot in JAES. Luckily, Francis will continue as an Associate Technical Editor.

Finally, I would like to remind you of our special offer: all review papers accepted for publication in JAES will get a complimentary Open Access status without a fee. This amazing opportunity will continue during the year 2022.

Thank you to all the authors and readers of JAES. Happy New Year!

Vesa Välimäki

Editor-in-Chief

Journal of the Audio Engineering Society

2020 REVIEWERS

The Editors of the AES Journal wish to offer their heartfelt thanks to the many reviewers who gave freely of their time and services, submitting reviews of manuscripts in 2020.

Finn Agerkvist
Juan Aguilar
Jens Ahrens
Benoit Alary
Sebastià Vicenç Amengual Garí
David Anderson
Areti Andreopoulou
Jamie Angus-Whiteoak
Jack Atherton
Tom Backstrom

Mingsain Bai
Behzad Bakhtiari
Peter Balazs
Ohad Barak
Cristian Becerra Benítez
Durand Begault
Gottfried Behler
Mohamed Anouar Ben Messaoud
Emmanouil Benetos
Justin Bennington

Jan Berg
Axel Berndt
Mark Bocko
Nicolas Bouillot
Jonas Braasch
Lars Bramslow
Fabian Brinkmann
Eddy Brixen
Richard Cabot
Patrick Cairns

Anil Camci Alexander Carot Stefano Cavaglieri Stefania Cecchi Adrian Celestinos Keunwoo Choi Flemming Christensen Philip Coleman Luca Comanducci Danilo Comminiello Jason Corey Stuart Cunningham Stefano D'Angelo Sneha Das Werner de Bruiin

Brecht De Man Enzo De Sena

Serafino di Rosario

Charalampos Dimoulas **Konstantinos Drossos** Michele Ducceschi Jakob Dyreby Monika Dörfler

Fabian Esqueda Georg Essl

Gianpaolo Evangelista Christine Evers Christof Faller Eric Ferguson Leonardo Fierro Spyridon Filippidis Natanya Ford Richard Foss Andreas Franck Jon Francombe Matthias Frank Giulio Franzese

Kaustuv Ganguli Eleftheria Georganti Pierre Grandjean John Grant Marco Grassi Emanuël Habets Brian Hamilton Leif Handberg

Leonardo Gabrielli

Navneet Gandhi

Malcolm Hawksford Jianiun He Adrian Herzog Adam Hill

Clara Hollomey

Andrew Horburgh Andrew Horner Rvo Ikeshiro Jesper Jensen Henrik Jürgens

Maximos Kaliakatsos-Papakostas

Neofytos Kaplanis James Kates Brian Katz Brian Kearns Steven Kemper Minje Kim Keisuke Kinoshita Wolfgang Klippel

Ina Kodrasi Günther Koliander Juergen Koller Kazuhiro Kondo Grazina Korvel Adam Kurowski Bernhard Laback Mathieu Lagrange Christian Langen Hyunkook Lee Jongpil Lee Sang-Wong Leigh

Francis (Feng) Li Mohan Li Juho Liski Tapio Lokki Luca Andrea Ludovico

Yin-Jyun Luo Morten Lydolf Robert Maher Hafiz Malik Robert Manzke Dan Mapes-Riordan Andrés Marafioti Damian Marelli

Francesco Martellotta Geoff Martin Russell Mason

Benjamin Matuszewski Luis McCallum Leo McCormack David McGrath Stylianos Ioannis Mimilakis

Nicolas Misdariis Tom Mitchell David Moffat Jorge Moreno John Mourjopoulos Pejman Mowlaee

Aki Mäkivirta Judy Najnudel

Philip Nelson Shahan Nercessian Scott Norcross Nicolas Obin Kenneth Ooi Julian Parker Jürgen Peissig Nils Peters Lorenzo Picinali David Poirier-Quinot Mark Poletti Karolina Prawda

Pavel Raimic Joshua Reiss Claudia Rinaldi Cristina Rottondi Olli Rummukainen Francis Rumsev Augusto Sarti Richard Savery

Rudolf Rabenstein

Ville Pulkki

Zafar Rafii

Jiří Schimmel Nadja Schinkel-Bielefeld Sebastian Schlecht

Frank Schultz Diemo Schwarz Maximilian Schäfer Rod Selfridge Stefania Serafin Antonio Servetti Christos Sevastiadis Nithva Shikarpur Andreas Silzle Julius Smith Simone Spagnol Thomas Sporer Ann Spriet

Christian Steinmetz Dan Stowell

Christopher Struck

Li Su

Daniel Swart Hiroko Terasawa **Iordanis Thoidis** Lamberto Tronchin Luca Turchet George Tzanetakis Vesa Valimaki Adrien Vidal Henrik von Coler Lazaros Vrvsis Johnty Wang Todd Welti Kurt Werner Stephan Werner Hagen Wierstorf

> Genta Indra Winata Alec Wright Cecilia Wu Ning Xiang Xiong Xiao Sangeon Yong Kazuvoshi Yoshii Solvi Ystad Pavel Zahorik

Massimiliano Zanoni

Yichi Zhang Tingting Zhou Franz Zotter